Is a Schiit Stack still worth getting?

Hi i’m pretty new to the whole headphone dac/amp thing and I was wondering if getting a schiit stack is still a good idea. I’ve heard good things about different dac/amps with a similar price point and I don’t know where the magni and modi stands in todays market.

What are you upgraging from?

Not that there is anything wrong with Schiit. At the moment the JDS Atom is probably the best $99 + shipping amp to get. It maybe considered an upgrade over the Magni. JDS has the OL DAC if you want the same brand, however because of form factor they won’t be a true “stack”. If you like the aesthetics of a true stack, Geshelli G-stack might be worth considering, and are back in stock recently. Though looks (acrylic) and price might not be your thing as their DAC costs a bit more.

It’s fine, but it’s not the best in that price point anymore. The JDS Labs Atom and something like a Topping D10 Dac is a great combo. They both objectively measure very well with little to zero noise.

One thing to note with the Geshelli stack is, if you need USB connectivity, their DAC doesn’t have it. Other than that, it’s a fantastic combo (though it’s about $100 more than Atom and D10 pairing).

Having gone through thousands of dollars in headphone amps and dacs(I can’t pass up a good deal ever), the Schiit stack, unless you’re going balanced, is all you should ever need. 3W at 16ohm will power nearly anything. The Magni doesn’t measure as well as the Atom but if you only buy for measurements you lose the fun in the hobby IMO, just make the music sound good. The Modi 3 can hang with DACS many times it’s price if you don’t plan on running MQA or DSD. Today you have so many options for a $200 stack so you can mix and match to your liking, but the Schiit stack is still definitely worth a look.

https://ifi-audio.com/products/nano-idsd-bl/ is a solid Dac/Amp combo with a balanced 3.5mm headphone out, a 3.5mm line out, MQA and ok OTG :+1: