$150 setup for sundaras

I’m pretty new to hifi, for forgive my ignorance. Looking to get a set of Sundaras.

What is a setup that would allow me to get the most out of them for ~$150?

Thank you for the help :)

Well first welcome here
Any other gear you already have or is it your first journey into our own little gear hell :stuck_out_tongue:
If you don’t have anything a used schiit magni/modi stack or a ifi zen DAC with a balanced 4.4mm to dual 3.5mm cable for your sundaras (a lot of people recommend getting new cables for hifiman HP anyway :wink: ) should reasonable for the price

2 Likes

While I have not personally heard it the zen DAC gets good enough reviews to suggest, it obviously won’t bring out the very best of the sundara but should be a decent starting point and if you use a balanced cable like @DuerumBen said it will power them even better. Cables like this are usually expensive tho…

On the budget side of things there is also the Fiio K5 pro.

Another thought is to just get an amp now and use it with your motherboard’s built in DAC and upgrade to a discreet DAC later. I personally use a the Liquid Spark and it is an awesome amp for the price it adds a tiny bit of warmth to the treble as well if you like something like that. Amps like this use RCA to connect so you will have to figure out the cables as well.

1 Like

Thank you for the kind welcome :D

Current “”setup”” is my iPad w/ Apple Music + Grado SR80. I would like to continue using my iPad (with or without Apple Music, as my Mac is a 12yo certified P.O.S

I’ll check out those options, appreciate the help!

1 Like

I had considered just getting an amp, however I’m sceptical about the quality of the DAC in my 12 year old Mac. Would this be an issue?