$200 headphones Recommendations

Hi. I’m pretty new to the headphone world and I’m trying to figure out what my first real purchase will be. I already own a pair of Sennheiser HD1 (Used to be called momentum 2.0, the wired over ear version) and although good looking, their sound doesn’t cut it.

I don’t know enough about terminology but I really enjoy vocals and treble (I appreciate a good bass though) and I think I would like more imaging than soundstage. I don’t mind either open or closed back (or ohms). My budget is around $200 but it can stretch to $300 (I live in Canada so taxes and other shenanigans add up pretty quick).

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Hmm, something like the dt880 would work well, but they do have a wider soundstage.

If you want something light and airy to try out, the audio technica ad700x is pretty good, but it’s fit and sound is not for everyone

1 Like

Thanks for the reply! I actually like soundstage, I’ve just heard that it can compromise imaging at this price point. I see that the dt880 come in 3 different ohms, do you know if that changes their sound on any way?

So you will want to aim towards the 250 ohm or 600 ohm if your amp can handle it. The 32 ohm is harsh and not really that detailed. The 600 ohm is the most detailed with the most even response. The 250 is also fine just a little less detailed.

Also you would want to look at the “premium version”, as it has a straight cable and lighter clamp compared to the pro version which as a coiled cable and tighter clamp

What would you be using to drive the 880?

2 Likes

Thanks for the tip, and I am planning to buy an amp along with the headphones. I was looking at the fiio k3 but I don’t know if it can even push 250 ohms. What amp would you recommend? (I am also thinking about the possibility of saving money until I can afford the HD 600’s instead and I know those headphones required 300 ohms)