$600 budget Help

I am new to the audiophile scene. looking for headphone recommendations.
I currently have a M-Audio 192/6 as an audio interface, does this count as a decent DAC?

Looking for an open-back audio experience.

What should I do with my $600 to up my audio game?

What kind of music will these be for? What aspects of sound matter most to you? Bass? Vocals? Treble?

Hey! Thanks for the reply.
I listen to all types of music. I haven’t really tried any audiophile headphones before. The best headphones I have listened to and really enjoyed were the Bose QC 15 and 25s.
I do enjoy bass, but if I had to choose I would go with treble.
Does something like a good all rounder exist?

The sennheiser HD58x comes highly recommended by a lot of people for a beginner, should I go for that?

FWIW, I’m new too and decided to go with HE-4XX w/ JDS Atom amp. With some EQ, I am really enjoying the sound.

However, with shipping issues from Drop (from reading the discussions over there) a safer bet would probably be going with the Sundara’s (can be had for 250ish open-box) and whatever amp you like (IE: Atom or Liquid Spark).

You’re welcome! I’ll try to answer each of your questions…

Yes, your M Audio interface will work fine as a DAC for entry-level audiophile headphones and speakers. It also has a headphone output which will be functional for headphones on the lower-impedance/hi efficiency end of the spectrum but will likely be limiting for many planars or hi-impedance dynamics.

The HD58X is a good starting point. It will likely also be powered sufficiently by your M Audio without an additional amp.

Based on your stated preference for both treble and bass, the Beyerdynamic DT990 600 ohm is a solid option in your price range. It will require an amp, though.

@ericg’s suggestion of HE4XX is also good, but probably also requires an amp.