650's worthiness

Hi!

I’ve been using HD600 for some time with my Aune X7s as amp and Focusrite Solo as dac. I was thinking of getting a pair of HD650 in the future since I’m looking for a relaxing, warm and enjoyable sound. I know that 650 sounds well with a tube amp, but those are expensive and to me quite unnecessary since I already have X7s. I can only think of XDuoo MT-602 as tube amp because they are cheaper.

So my questions are: 1. Is it worth to own both HD600 and HD650?, 2. If I had 650, would X7s do the job or should I invest in a tube amp? and 3. Is XDuoo MT-602 powerful enough to drive 650?

I know that the 6XX variant is cheaper but I live in Europe so buying things outside EU is risky because of customs police and taxes (especially during this COVID time).

I will be grateful for any advice. Thank you for taking your time answering or just reading my post. (I’m still a noob in the audio world)

You can tube the HD 600, it’s considered to respond very well to a tube amp, even better than the HD 650.

Amplification wise HD600, HD650, HD6XX are exactly the same.

1 Like

Hi! Welcome to HFGF!

I agree with @Freyr that to change up the 600’s sound you would be best serve driving it with a tube amp. In Europe you can check out Feliks Audio. They make very nice tube amps and some are not crazy expensive. The other entry point for you is probably a Darkvoice 336SE. I would only go that route if you absolutely can’t get/afford a Feliks.

Good luck!

zen dac. both as dac and/or amplifier. it will sound better as a dac then the focusrite. its also a very warm dac that has bass boost. it will give your hd600’s a different, more warm sound. sounds great to me with my hd600’s. the amp will drive them to about(i don’t have equipment for this, purely my ears) 90-95 db. thats off of usb. haven’t tried with dedicated power supply, which gives it more power from what others have said(havent tried to confirm)