Advice for a newcomer

I’m just getting into high quality audio, I’m in the process of buying components for my first pc (just need a fucking 3070 at this point) and my friend who is largely responsible for getting me into pc gaming asked if I was getting a sound card. (I have a 50 dollar hyperX headset and hadn’t even considered getting anything else at this point) I watched a linus tech tips video about sound cards and dac/amps and that made me go down the rabbit hole. I purchased a schiit magni modi stack, and bought a pair of shp9500s for my ps4. I ordered a hd58x that will ship at the end of the month and was looking for a good headphone to purchase with it, I am primarily looking at the dt 1990 pros and will order those when I get my credit card in the mail hopefully today. I listen to a variety of music mostly various types of rock and metal, and play video games mostly single player but occasionally will play apex with my bud or whatever souls like we’re into at the time. I would appreciate any advice/suggestions y’all may have.

Sorry I’m a bit lost, what exactly do you want? Are you asking for another headphone to compliment the ones you have ordered? Or an upgrade to those? Just trying to understand what you are asking for

the upgrade I’m thinking about is the dt 1990, but I haven’t entirely decided yet. Do you think that is a good second pair to get? Any general advice for someone with no experience in hifi audio?

1 Like

as I said in the previous post, your better off trying the previous beyers… your getting ahead of yourself and rushing things which is only going to burn you in the process… just because something is more expensive does not by any means in this hobby = better… not at all. There is many people who will argue that they found the DT 880 at 600 ohms better than the 1990 in many ways… or that the fact the 1990 is more than double the price of the DT 880 or 990 is a bad thing as the sound differences do not justify the changes provided.