Analog Vs Digital Eq

Hello,
I have a technical question about equalizers.
I’ve been keeping an eye on it for two or three years now, because I thought it was really easy to tune the headphones to your needs with something like this.

Personally, I am sometimes too analogue as a person in certain things.
I like digital things, no question, but when they start to overwhelm me, it gets on my nerves.

I think every 6 months I download Apo and realise what a piece of shit it really is.
At least for me.
Either something doesn’t work, or if it does, it sounds so bad.

Years ago I bought the Schiit Loki and in less than 5 minutes I had everything the way I wanted it.
But the little Loki is only a small 4-band EQ that lets you roughly adjust things.
On my tube amplifier it causes a humming noise when I put it near, aaaarrrgggg really.:weary::weary::weary:

So you keep looking and looking and you find mostly old stuff, a lot of it made in China, or expensive event technology that I don’t really need.
Although the event technology would have exactly what I would like.
But you can usually find it all in the old 80-90 equalizers.

I’ve dealt with DSP minimally, I already have a Dac so why run it through a Dac again?

My question is actually which is better to let a signal pass through an eq and accept a “little” sound loss.
Or is it better to play around on the pc again and reduce the looping of the signal?

I mean, 20-30 years ago it was also done, why isn’t it done today?
What is your opinion?

If you want a physical eq, look into pro equipment. Buy you’re gonna pay pro-rates for it.

But the reason why pros use them is that they’re reliable; when you have money riding on a performance, you don’t want your digital system to crap out and ruin it all. Although there are some amazing advances in digital systems in reliability so many high-end setups use digital stuff.