AR-3A Amp Pairing

I recently inherited a pair of AR-3A speakers in excellent condition, but I have no idea what to use to power them. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I would love to know the ideal amp (money is no object) as a future goal, but for now if there are any affordable amps that would pair nicely with them, that would be great.

2 Likes

Pretty sweet pair of speakers, I mean you can look for some vintage audio research power and preamps, that would be pretty sweet imo, would pair really nicely together

Assuming you are in the us and not opposed to buying used? Also money is no object is a strong phrase lol, what type of budget would you actually want to aim for

2 Likes

Yeah, I’m in US and wouldn’t mind buying used.

I’m curious what the best would be, but I’m not really looking to spend more than $300 right now.

I’m pretty new to the audio world, so I don’t really know where to start. I had watched a couple Zeos reviews for headphones and speakers a while back (ended up with a DAC, amp, headphone stack that I like), so I figured I’d be in good hands if I went to his reddit.

Ah well nvm about my idea lol, but we can get something that would be pretty nice and drive them well

Just curious, what do you have at the moment?

At my PC I have a Schiit Modi + Magni that runs to a pair of Micca PB42X and a Polk Audio PSW10. And for headphones I switch between the AKG K7XX, Hifiman HE-4XX, and Mitchell & Johnson MJ2.

What about some nice 80s Japanese Integrated Amps?
Technics SU-V8 comes to mind, one of the best of its era and a lot of current to keep the 12” under control. There are some great Luxman Lux out there too.

Also a good pick for higher end, although at 300 I think going with a power amp that he could control from his magni might be worthwhile

1 Like

I’m pretty open to anything.

I don’t have a lot of space near the PC so I was thinking of a new setup for it in the living room (only thing playing music there is a google home mini).