Argon mk3 balanced and tube amp

Anyone have experience with a balanced argon mk3 with a tube amp like the loxjie p20? I’m looking to get into tubes and a closed back headphone. I currently use AKG 712 with atom amp. Also any info on the AKG with loxjie p20 too, thanks!

I really don’t think that would be a good combo imo, not really enough power tbh, it’s not a strong amp. It would work but for that price getting a magni heresy would be what I would pick

1 Like

What about a tube amp? And is it worth it to get balanced? I have no experience with balanced

Schitt vali?

I don’t think the Argon’s are a good choice for a pure tube amp, so you’d be looking at a hybrid, how much do you want to spend?
The P20 seems like a terrible match for argon’s, it’s like 40 Ohm output impedance
The Vali would probably drive them, but I’d want to hear from someone who’s hear the combo.
The CTH is OK with the T50RP3, so it would probably be fine, but it’s a step up in price.

I would seriously go solid state here imo

Would the argons not work with a tube amp because they are generally not powerful enough? And would the Atom be enough to power the argons? My budget is up to $300

Low impedance headphones and Planars in general, don’t usually play well with tubes.
It’s not power it has to do with the output impedance of the amplifiers and the loads they are designed to drive.
Hybrids don’t usually have the issue, but the P20 specifically does.
You also have the power requirements issue with the Argons.
I’d probably go with the Schiit Asgard 3 at that price, or the SMSL SP200 if you want to go THX.
You might get away with the atom, but the Argon’s are somewhat notorious for requiring power to sound good, so again you’d want to find someone who’s actually tried the pairing

1 Like

I would say the asgard 3 is a good choice (the 2 is way behind in performance compared to the 3), the a3 is def my pick, I think they pair very well with argons

1 Like

Typo corrected