Audio newb; New headphone Advice: punk rock

Hi,

Audio newbie here. Just ordered the Shiit magni modi stack. I have had the beyerdynamic DT 990 pro (with no amp) for a while. Obviously I want to upgrade from this, since it doesn’t really get any praise when watching reviews.

I listen to punk rock mostly. Something like the band BRUTUS (seriously, check them out) and would like some advice for a good headphone that would complement with this genre.

I’ve been thinking about the Hifiman HE4XX or the Sennheiser HD6XX. But i’ve also been debating on spending some more money to get the Beyerdynamic DT 1990 pro.
FYI, i’m from europe. this means getting things from drop/massdrop will add €50 to the price due to import tax. (this is kinda important if we’re comparing value etc)

Any suggestions/ tips/ advice for this new audio enthusiast?

Thanks!

Just wondering, have you gotten your stack yet and tried it out? What are you looking to change, what do you like and dislike about your current setup?

I would honestly try to upgrade your source gear first. What impedance is the 990? Cause the 250 ohm and 600 really appreciate power and just because other people don’t like it doesn’t mean it’s bad or you don’t like it

1 Like

Hi Mon,

I don’t have the stack yet, it should arrive sometime next week.
The problem is that I don’t really know what I would change or what I would like.
The 250 ohm headphone has never had an amplifier connected to it, so it’s not really a good reference to start with. You reckon I should just wait for the amp/dac before I make any decision?

I guess for now I’m just looking for advice from experience audiophiles who are into rock.