Audio Noob here concerned about his Headphones

I’ve had the Beyerdynamic Custom Studio (80 ohms) for about four months now. When I first bought it, I noticed that some sounds weren’t as clear or as detailed as others, and some sounded abit muddy. But I didn’t really mind it cause it was during my first few weeks. I thought it was normal since I wasn’t using an amp nor dac. As I listen to it now, It’s like I notice more of how kind of “lack of detail” to the music I’m listening to; is that because I’m still not using an amp and dac and had grown more used to listening to music or details more intently or is it becaues my headphones have degraded abit since I listen to them at 70-80 percent volume since at those levels it seemed normal. (hjehe sorry if this may sound abit stupid to some of the long time audiophiles here but I’m just scared of the possibility that my headphones have degreaded in sound quality; do I just really need an amp and dac to get the sound I want to be better?)

the reason why I haven’t bought an amp and dac is because of the pandemic going on :sweat_smile:(can’t seem to get out of my home)

Question is, what are you comparing this sound to? Like my higher end headphones really do show more detail compared to cheaper cans, but those Beyers should be fairly good.

Then some music is just badly recorded and mastered. Even newer stuff.

Hey, can you tell us what’s your source (computer, motherboard) and what kind of files you are listening to? (youtube, 320kb mp3, CD or flac).

I am not aware of any headphone that breaks from use.

Many mainboards have auto-sensing to match the impedance of the connected headphone. That sens-feature may or may not work as intended.

Likely this.
You could get a headphone amplifier (Monolith Liquid Spark for example) and run it from your mainboard.

There are sliders on the underside of each earcup that can be opened or closed. Have you played around with those?