Battle of the "Stacks"

Hey there! I’m pretty new to all this audiophile stuffs and I’ve been doing a lot of research the past few days. I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t want an all in one device for my desktop setup but rather have a sexy looking stack off to the side. As I’ve said I’m still new 'round these parts so I wanted to ask everyone. In your opinion which “stack” would you consider the best/your favorite and why? I was leaning towards the panda stack because of the looks as well as the sound but its hard to find the lps and the headphone amp doesn’t have a volume knob which is a bit disappointing. I also considered schiit stacks and geshelli stacks. Any others out there for a reasonable price? I’m willing to spend around 250-300 for any given unit in the stack. I appreciate any help you can offer, thanks :blush:.

It is a buyers’ market for reasonable priced, competitively performing stacks. Things to consider as well may be the SU-8/ DA-8/ SH-8 as a stack.

One alternative if you could spend more would be a THX stack: Monolith 788 Desktop and Drop 789. Part of me really wants to do this, but I know I don’t ‘need’ a Drop 789.

I was also looking at the su-8 stack but I don’t have anything balanced (yet) and they’re a tad big for my current desk. Maybe by the end of the year I’ll be able to get a new place and a bigger desk. Also I’ve seen zeo’s reviews of both thx devices. Aren’t they both headphone amp/dacs? What would be the benefit of having both?

The Monolith 788 Desktop is a DAC/AMP all-in-one, but the Drop 789 is just an amplifier.

Within this price range it’s hard to find a fitting stack except Schiit Stack and SMSL SU8/SH8 (I would tend to SMSL in this case). If balanced is not too important for you and looks play a role you should have a look at the JDS labs (SEX) Stack ^^. Consisting of the EL AMP and EL DAC. It’s one of the nicest stacks you can get in my opinion buuuut you are looking at around 500$ instead of 300$. Pic