Beginner Audiophile Speaker Advice

Looking for advice on entry level audiophile desk speakers. Budget is around $200-$300. Will be used equally for gaming, music, and videos. Looking at powered only right now. I am currently considering:

• Monolith MM-3 or MM-5
  • Kanto YUx
  • Fluance Ai40, Ai60
  • Vanatoo T0 (out of budget but could wait for b-stock)
  • Klipsch Pro Media 2.1

I am just beginning my dive into audiophile gear so I am looking for any and all advice for startng out. Anyone have some insight or experience with this set or others I should consider?

Thanks!

1 Like

YU would work well if you don’t need optical or phono. Now that we have come out with YU I rarely recommend YU4 for desktop use. PM me if you have any questions about our speakers.

1 Like

What’s the usage setting? Office near a PC or sitting several feet away in a home theater?

Mostly near field listening at a desk for gaming and music. But i would like it to still fill a small bedroom with good sound if possible.

AD18 or SA300 + Infinity R152

I’m big on Klipsch but the pro media 2.1 is probably my least favorite system because the satellite and sub integration is pretty miserable.

I have not heard them in person but I believe Z gave a glowing review to the Fluance powered monitors.

If you want to have some fun getting some reasonably priced gear - Desktop Speaker Amp - https://www.amazon.com/Micca-OriGain-Compact-Integrated-Amplifier/dp/B01M0SL7YC/ref=sr_1_2?crid=31H94EIBL261A&dchild=1&keywords=mica+origain&qid=1593061026&s=electronics&sprefix=mica+or%2Celectronics%2C137&sr=1-2

Fun little standmount speakers - https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42X-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=sr_1_4?crid=31H94EIBL261A&dchild=1&keywords=mica%2Borigain&qid=1593061078&s=electronics&sprefix=mica%2Bor%2Celectronics%2C137&sr=1-4&th=1