Beginners guide to Quality Music tracks

Hello Everyone,

I am a complete Noob here.

I have been watching Zeos for a few months, and got myself a Sennheiser hd 660 and a origen 2 pre amp/dac.

Now I got the tools, but I was Born on the internet, and all my ears have ever known is internet streaming. Spotify and Pandora served me well, but I feel like this is not the best music has to offer.

For those that do local high bitrate and quality tracks, how do you get the music?
What hardware are you using?
What software do you use?
Did you have to change any settings on your PC (if you use a pc)?
How do you choose which music to download?

Thanks in advance to all those that help!

PS. if Zeos wants to Make and publish a playlist that would be awesome!

if this thread fills up with good answers to my question i will compile them and either edit this post or make a new one.

I’m also new to this beacause of zeos. I bought a nice pair of kef ls50w and the first thing i did was scrap the spotify account for a Tidal account. I think this is the first step since it’s so easy and as convenient as spotify. And the good thing about tidal is that you can explore alot and since you got yourself a nice pair of hd 660s you probably won’t ever listen to any Tailor Swift again.

1 Like

Spotify premium is at 320kbps (if you change it in settings), to be honest, that is enough. This will be a can of worms to open, and yes the source matters, but can you TRULY hear a difference between FLAC, WAV and 320kbps? No, you cant. It is all placebo. Spotify premium is enough, but if you really want, you can get Tidal, which is $10 more a month a gives ‘lossless’ playback on a laptop or phone. It will use more storage, oh my god it will use so much more storage, and will you hear a difference? No.

4 Likes