Best Headphone Setup Under $500

What would be the best headphone setup (Amp and DAC as needed) under $500 for everyday use (gaming, office work, movie watching, analytical listening, fun) for the aspiring audiophile?

Clarity, details, imaging, soundstage, comfort, scaling, build quality etc. would all be considered.

(Sorry if the question is very vague or hard to answer I am still learning about audiophile equipment but I am very interested)

Hello.

Have you considered headphones that not need a stronger external amp/dac?

Can highly recomend Dali io4 or io6, depend on you want anc or not, great build quality, but they was little too tight for my head, play very open and clear.

B&O h9 3gen is also in this price range, sounds very close to dali but they have more bass, and they have more aluminium then dali, the leather is real, and the head pillows feels very soft.

You can download the B&O app and adjust the sound the way you want it to sound, and the adjustment saves on the headset so it’s for all units you use them on.

Best would be to visit a store and find 2-3 different types you are considering, some would fit your head and ears better then others. Take your time, use your own phone to listen to music that you Are used to hear when trying new headphones.

Hi and welcome HFGF :smiley: the Beyerdynamic DT880 600ohm is great for gaming, fun, detailed and comfy with great build quality, pair it with say an iFi Zen Dac and a iFi Zen CAN this would be pretty great and almost on budget :+1:

in regards to office work do you work from home or are you going to an office and travelling currently?

A good V shaped Phone are the Emu Purpleheart from Massdrop for 75$.
And paired it with the Ify zen Dac it is enough with a solid good Soundstage.