Best headphones for music/gaming in 2021?

Hello, I’m new to this hobby and don’t know anything about non-gaming headphones.

For the majority of my life I used gaming headsets, like the Arctis Pro from SteelSeries, until they broke due to bad plastic quality…

Now, because I care more about sound quality (I started to listen to music a lot recently) I want to buy headphones with the best sound quality for 200-$300. I’m still playing games actively and they have to be ok for that purpose as well. Wired headphones are preferred, I don’t own a DAC and my motherboard sound card is terrible… Do I have to buy one to get nice sound on these headphones?

Any advice is greatly appreciated, because I’m really lost in the world where I can choose from so many products from different producers I don’t know.

I currently think about the Bayerdynamics Tygr 300 r without the FOX mic, I’d buy a modmic or a blue yeti mic + the Apple USB-C to 3.5mm adapter… Is that a good idea?

this seems a like a good start. you don’t really need anything too powerful to drive them the apple dongle dac should be fine for now and really hard to beat it at $10 if thats al you can afford. but I wouldn’t get ayeti personally it’s a prettty sub par piece of kit. and the snowball IMO sounds better. but I would also point you towards dynamic usb mics cheaper than a yeti and for most use cases will sound better than a condenser especially if your room is not treated or you run a mechanical keyboard. EXamples of mics are the samson q2u or the ath 2005.

Thanks for the answer, I thought about buying the Samson q2u as well. Would you buy an AMP or/and DAC (instead of the Apple adapter) for that setup, because they’re quite expensive at ~100$ and I don’t know if it would make a difference. I had a DAC from the Steelseries Arctis Pro headset and they sounded better with it.

depends on the headphone really, but if it’s really that bad like some I have seen… yes you will need an amp and dac.