Best portable dac or amp for 4xx

Hey guys, beginner here. I just bought a pair of 4xx. I was wondering what would be the best bang for the buck upgrade I could do for audio quality.
Something significant from running Tidal masters off my laptop. But nothing that will chain me to a wall (so portable), but can still drive planars well.
Ergonomics aren’t a concern, just not being stuck to a wall. I’m open to any combinations or suggestions just totaling under $250usd total.
Thanks for your time!

Welcome to HFGF :smiley:

My iFi nano iDSD Black Label drove my Phantoms pretty well, MQA :+1:, iEMatch :+1: and S-Balanced 3.5mm if you ever need it and a line out to boot.
Maybe the hip-dac too but no sure as i’ve not used one :man_shrugging:

Thanks for the info Ohmboy. Yup, the iFi nano iDSD Black Label is on my short list.

At that budget I’d recommend the xduoo xd05 plus, the upcoming fiio q3 and IFI nano.

Wow, great suggestions Grant_Cho thanks!

+1 on this rec. I had these two paired awhile back and it has sufficient power to drive the 4xx nicely :ok_hand:

If you go this route I’d suggest saving up for a burson v5i op amp as it’s a nice little upgrade for the unit.

1 Like

Thanks, donjklassen. Yeah… the xduoo xd05 plus is over $350 in Canada so I cant consider it right now.

Do any of you know anything about the E1DA Power DAC V2 in comparison to the others? Right now I’m considering it, the iFi nano or hip-dac. Or waiting for the FiiO Q3.

Oh and should I consider bluetooth? Like the fiio btr3 connected to an amp, I’m assuming it won’t provide as good audio quality as the options above?

One more possibility a Lotoo Paw S1 small footprint but big on features and audio quality and I believe MQA with a firmware update?

http://www.lotoo.cn/english/Hi_Fi_Player/PAW_S1/