beyerdynamic dt-990 versus dt-1990 (re: I've purchased both, need confirmation/advice) (gaming/music)

I’m a headphone newbie but I was previously using the dt-770 (80 ohm) and really liked them.

I was looking for gaming/music headphones and saw the dt-990 was really popular so I purchased a pair on a good deal ($149 for the limited edition, 250 ohm) and immediately loved them except for the sharp treble with specific songs/artists. The open-back sound is amazing and I definitely prefer it over the closed-back.

I also purchased a Monoprice Liquidspark DAC and AMP combo (as it was recommended to help reduce the treble… I don’t think it helps the treble, but it does power the headphones really nice)

Before the dt-990 return policy was over I thought I would also try the dt-1990 (on sale for $525 with no tax and free shipping).

So far I really like the dt-1990. I’ve only ever used three headphones in my life (770, 990, 1990) so I don’t have the correct terms but here is my comparison:

Compared to the DT-1990, the DT-990 sounds a bit muffled or “compressed”. I don’t know what mid-tones sound like or if the treble is the difference I’m hearing, but when I use the DT-990 it sounds closer to my closed-back headphones.

Here’s my questions…

Are the DT-1990 the best headphones (around $500) for 60% music and 40% gaming?

Should I try any other headphones? (the problem is that with COVID, I can’t visit any stores so I have to buy and return which is terrible)

Did I make a good decision with the DT-1990? (and return my DT-990)

There seems to be a lot of talk about the Sennheiser HD6XX, HD660, etc, so that has me second-guessing my 1990s as well.

Thanks so much for any advice!

1 Like