Budget amp and dac under £250

Hi All

Looking for advice if possible as I am new to all this and totally confused with all the options

Currently using an old SMSL M3 for listening to music / Gaming / watching you tube / watching movies all on PC

My current head phones are the DT 990 Pro 250ohms and the ATH-M50x (but don’t really use these that often) and I also plug my Kanto Yumi speakers into the back of the M3 as they have their own power source

I will also be looking to purchase new headphones in a couple of months but that will be another question

Has anyone got any suggestions for upgrading or should I just stick with what I have?

Thanks in advance

If you buy really power hungry headphones you might struggle to power them from the USB. But tbh don’t spend money you don’t have to…
At the minute, Schiit is out of stock in the UK and will be for a while, so the obvious solution is a no go. I’d say save your money for the moment and if one the headphones you buy in the future needs more power then pull the trigger then.

take a look at the iFi Zen DAC. it’s a combo with both 6.5mm se and 4.4mm pentacon balanced output. they just released a v2 that is supposed to have better USB processing, but I have no complaints with my v1.

ya pretty sure the IFI zen DAC is one of the better options at this price range while still saving a lot of cash.
Not sure how well it plays with the D990 but it should be fine

M0N advises the Zen DAC will barely be enough for anything with mid-high impedance like your DT990 250 ohm. so scratch that as an idea

I know Schiit is having stocking issues because of the pandemic effects on the supply chain, but you could check their UK store for the Magni 3+ or Heresy. those DEFINITELY have enough power.