Budget DAC/AMP or AMP for Jamo S803 speakers

Do you know what I can pair with my Jamo S803 speakers? Something that is not really expensive around 300$.

Do I also need a DAC or an AMP it’s enough?

I’m quite new to this, so please don’t judge if I sound stupid. :slight_smile:

An all in one unit like a smsl ad18 has lots of features and sounds good.

You could get a topping pa3 and topping d10 for a stack that I think would be better then the smsl. You could even swap the d10 out for the topping dx3 pro and have a built in headphone amp in the dac.

1 Like

Topping MX3 is Dac/Amp/Headphone Amp with Bluetooth.

I didn’t like the amp portion for the mx3. It didn’t sound very clean, and measures poorly

Edit: I think you would run into the same distortion problem with this unit

I was just reading that the power handling of the speakers is 80W / 160W, but the majority of DAC/AMP combos is around 40 - 50wpc. Am I looking at this wrong? People are saying that the AMP should have ALWAYS more power than what the speaker actually need.