Car audio novice in need of an upgrade

So I’m a bored college student on summer break. Figured I’d finally get around to bringing my car audio up to par with the rest of my gear. Speaker wise I use, and enjoy a lot, the Mackie MR624 (~$300-400) studio monitors which have a relatively flat and accurate sound. I’d like to go for setup with a similar sound signature and overall quality. Budget is whatever is necessary for the equivalent of a mid-range 2.0 speaker set up.

My current car is a 2005 Scion XB with bone stock audio equipment. I have literally no experience with car audio so I would love a step by step of what gear I need from someone more experienced experienced than I.

1 Like

Very basic upgrade guide:

So i’m shooting you down in to reality.
Since car speaker locations, actual cabinet of elements, the car itself is very different from speaker/monitor and home/office environment.
Getting anything near / close to monitor level sound would require heavy modification on actual speaker location. Getting the tweeter, midrange up to window line and aiming the bass up, amps and DSP settings etc.

Just the sound absorbing material to cover everything plus making the new speaker location setups, cable’s and time used add’s up quickly to mid-range 2.0 systems.
Depending what everyone’s mid-range 2.0 setup would be since i would still go 2k mark easily.
Good 2-way car speaker set alone can be few hundred alone.

Getting good sound usually needs 2-way setup (tweeter / mid+bass), good enough source / player with DSP. Amp for speaker drivers + added sub is plus, amp may be drive all speaker’s. Sound absorbing material and better installation of drivers.
Metal on cars / doors is very flexy so getting them hard is pain itself. Loses mid-bass on vibration movement.