Classical shopping list

Looks like I may be on the cusp of a new job. This role would see me in a small office doing a lot of statical analysis. When I’m getting stuck into work like that, I like to block the world out and listen to music to help me focus.

Unfortunately, when I really need to concentrate, I find listening to things like Tool, Oceansize, Smashing Pumpkins, etc. to be a little bit too interesting! As I’m a drummer, I’ll start tapping my feet and my mind wonders. I need classical! I only have a few albums I can rely on for such things, a CD of Debussy’s piano sonatas is my main go to. However, if I’m going to be doing this every day with this new role, I’ll likely get tired of the few classical albums I have pretty quick.

So, CDs, please help me build a shopping list. I have a broad taste in classical music, I particularly like piano sonatas and do not care for opera. I guess OST would also pass muster here. Help a brother out!

1 Like

Since you prefer piano sonatas, you can check out the more classic ones: Beethoven, Mozart and one of my favorites, Schubert. You can easily find recordings by Deutsche Grammophon and Decca .

You should try listening to Symphonies too. :wink:

2 Likes

Excellent! Thanks for the recommendations. Looks like I’ve got the job so I’ll certainly be investing in a healthy collection.

2 Likes

I used to know of an amazing classical music streaming app but it recently got bought out by apple. Now Apple is creating their own didactic app.

I have considered choosing an app but I’m not one for streaming. I like owning CDs and having local FLAC libraries on-hand. No reliance on an internet connection.

3 Likes

Yeah, I loved Primephonic. Their search was amazing, and sounded better than my current Amazon HD. Still waiting for Apple to do something, but so far it seems buried.

2 Likes