Closed back headphones for competitive advantage

Hello everyone!

First of all I want to say that I’m a beginner and just started learning thing or two about audio equipment thus I need help finding headphones for fps gaming, specifically Hunt: Showdown (a first person shooter which is practically designed to play around sound clues triggering around you).

Years ago I fell into a trap buying 7.1 surround sound Siberia v2 gaming headset when I was playing competitive CS, and couldn’t be more wrong about gaming headsets. When it broke on me, I bought HyperX Cloud stinger because I just didn’t want to spend much money on gaming headsets and also I didn’t feel the quality that I should be getting for price when I bought Siberia years ago. Right now, I’m having trouble pinpointing footsteps around me, all I hear is a lot of background/ambient noise and I really need to stop moving and focus to hear players walking in proximity.

Anyways, what I need - a good set of cans:

• List item closed back headphones, sometimes I can hear a TV going off in living room

• List item not bass heavy, quality of explosions and gunshots is not important at all, just want to know the direction and hear players

• List item if possible emphasis on treble, allowing me to hear footsteps more clearly

Also I don’t know if I would need dac/amp so you can maybe recommend me one to combo with headphones.
My budget is around 200$ but can go more if its worth it :slight_smile: