DAC + Amp / Audio Interface Help

Big noob here. I recently came into possession of a Sennheiser HD660S and a Shure SM7B and need help with a DAC+Amp / pre-amp / audio interface setup into my desktop PC. After reading these forums and watching various videos for approximately 6 hours the most I’ve gathered is that balanced XLR options would be preferred given the equipment and that likely a tube amp would take the most advantage of the Sennheiser(?) If so, what would be the simplest/cleanest interface setup for me without compromising the maximum potential quality of output to the monitors and keeping their neutral (albeit possibly slightly-warm-if-via-tube) sound? I’ve seen the majority of DAC+Amp pairings here come out to ~240 USD and an example Focusrite Scarlett Solo being ~110 USD. It would be nice to keep the budget around that total of 250-550, I just have no clue which ones to look at and whether an all-in-one would be possible or if separate mix-and-matching would be beneficial (I assume it’s the latter). I’ve also read on numerous reviews of the Shure that it is recommended to pair with this Cloudlifter. Any thoughts?

Happy Holidays.

So the sm7b is a gain hog and is pretty demanding when it comes to your interface. You can get by with a cloudlifter + scarlett, but personally I would suggest something like a dbx 286s and an audient id4 as a minimum to really take advantage of what that mic has to offer (no cloudlifter needed here)

Regarding the amp for the senn, you can then use the dac in the audient and send it out to a nice headphone amp like a schiit asgard 3 or lake people g103-s (the asgard is warmer smoother more full bodied while the 103s is more studio neutral but with a bit of added warmth and both match the sennheiser pretty well imo)

1 Like

Hey M0N, thanks for the swift response, I saw you on most of the threads I’ve researched!