DAC/AMP combo for a HD58X

Hello,

I am new in the hifi world, coming from gaming headset and I can instantly feel the difference with the HD58X using the realtek mobo chip. How more does a good DAC/AMP improve much more the quality? Can you recommend me a pair for these headphones with upgrade possibilities for example for something similar to HD6XX? The budget is 200$ but I can do the effort until 300$. I am from the European Union if its possible a brand that can be bought here to avoid customs.

Regards.

So I don’t imagine 58x will benefit greatly with an upgrade imo it works pretty great on any amp/dac however I’m unfamiliar with that Realtek chip.

Buying a set up can still be worthwhile though especially if you plan on getting a 6xx in the future :+1:

What music do you listen to and are you looking for certain features? Will this be desktop use or do you need portability as well?

1 Like

Hi,

Realtek chip is the default sound integrated chip in any PC motherboard, so is the worst chip you can see and I am sure that it destroys the music :slight_smile:

Its for desktop use and I listen especially rock and metal, also love videogames with great OST’s and I spent a lot of time playing them, and a bit of electronic.

Features, I don’t know much about them but better if it has optical conection option that is the conection that have in common my PC and TV.

Regards.

okay cool so for a dac the topping e30 would be a pretty sweet option with optical and I think for an amp id consider the Schiit Magni 3+ if you want a more musical experience or Schiit Magni heresy for a more analytical one… normally id rec the liquid spark for a budget amp but it rolls off high frequencies and I feel like Schiit stuff pairs nicer with sennheiser cans and the 6xx will benefit from the additional power as well if you decide to pick that up in the future