DAP consideration

hi folks, thanks for your time dropping in here. first of all i’m new to the hobby but i love listening to music. My small start comes from AKG Y50bt, sennheiser cx 300 ii, then sony wh1000xm2, then the wf-xm3. After clearing all the previous stuff, i’ve finally decided to jump into the hobby and start small with FiiO BTR5 + Ikko OH10/ BLON BL03 combos. Judging from the iems, you can guess my audio preference would be.

Thing is, listen to songs alot. ALOT, the BTR5 wont even last me the day. maybe due to the LDAC setting was set on, and my phone was set to LDAC quality priority (phone died faster from this too). With that being said, i’m currently curious about DAPs with a series of questions.

1. Does DAP sound better than my current BTR5? (using exp Shanling M3x)
  2. Say i have the funds, should i go for:
    a. Shanling M3x + Mangird Tea?
    b. FiiO M11 plus?
    c. ibasso dx160?
    d. long term support for android DAP in general (apps, firmware, etc)

Other ideas or suggestion is welcomed. Thanks again.

Hello :slight_smile: I was in the exactly same position as you’re, so I’ll get my 2 cents in.

I own btr5 and I had the same problems as you are facing, so I went for a DAP. Bought a Sony a105 and it sucked, so I traded it for an m3x and never looked back. I do also own the teas and use them together, as m3x is still my main source.

M3X is amazing and prolly the king on its price range (up to 300). Battery life for almost 19h on prime mode makes it a breeze for grab and forget. It has very very good output power for a dap, and can run everything i threw at him without sweating. Has everything I love: 4.4mm,android mode for other players and streamers, is fast, not too big or heavy. It has slightly warmish colored sound which I enjoy and I’m pretty sure you’ll too. Firmwares are still rolling so you won’t have to worry for a while.