Dap recommendations $650

I have an Opus #1s, A&K Jr., and an older Fiio x3.

I play AFLAC copies from CDs through studio earphones or in ear noise canceling.

Considering the M11, the M11Pro and the Hyby 6 Pro.

Thoughts?

What headphones/iems do you use, what features are you looking for, and also any specific sound signature you are after?

2 Likes

Sony mdr7506 studio headphones and 1More triple driver in-ear

Features, Bluetooth, accurate 8 octave range.

I listen primarily to jazz, mostly multiple horn (octets and big bands) where I want to hear the inner harmony voices, the bass and drums and accurate rendering of the instrument voices, i.e., the overtones which make up the instrument “voice”.

Sorry, excuse the non-technical talk as I’m not an audiophile: I’m a musician who wants to be as close to the original recording as I can get.

1 Like

You definitely want to upgrade your headphones if that’s what you’re after. You’ll see a much bigger improvement if you allocated most of that money towards new headphones instead rather than all on a DAP. How much would you be willing to pay for headphones?

Regarding the DAP, I really don’t imagine you’d find the M11 pro to be worth the extra $250 over the M11.

2 Likes

I just bought a Hiby R5 and I can’t really imagine what this DAP could add, as it is jam packed with features. It has a ton of features, it sounds great, easy user interface, and the battery life is pretty great. It has quickly become the cornerstone of my work at home setup as it is easy to connect to my source chain and play whatever format of music I want.

I highly recommend the r5.

3 Likes

oh yeah @marcgii is right. It’s true that amp/dac upgrades are important (specially amps if you have something that scales well) but first a headphone upgrage would make the biggest difference. if you are willing to buy a 600 dollar dap i would consider a higher tier headphone over the sonys and onemore triple driver

Recommendations?