Desktop DAC AMP combo recommendation with multiple input

Hi I’m relatively new to audio equipment and I was wondering if I could get some guiding for what to buy.
I’m looking for a DAC amp combo (either separate or all-in one) with input for multiple devices, ideally I would like to plug PC, ps4 and switch to the same DAC and output to powered speakers and headphones. Something with decent sound

I’m not sure about budget since I don’t know if what I’m asking for is something you would find on an entry level device or not, but I’m just wondering what my options are

What headphones would you be using? And what price range would you want to stay under? For the switch, you might need an hdmi audio extractor in order to use a good dac with it

I have a pair HE400i that I’m gonna be using, budget wise I’d like to stay under 300 dollars but slightly above that is also fine

1 Like

So it would depend on how you set things up, if you have a tv that has optical out, you could just use a dac like a topping e30 with an amp like a magni 3+ or topping l30, since you would be able to use one optical cable for the switch and ps4, and then the usb for the pc.

If you didn’t have a tv/monitor with a optical out, then things might get a bit more tricky, you would want a dac with multiple toslink inputs, and also would want an hdmi audio extractor to grab the digital audio from the switch and pass it through the dac. I like this one for something that works well:
https://www.amazon.com/J-Tech-Digital-Extractor-Converter-JTDAT5CH/dp/B074HHSJVN/ref=sr_1_31, and for an all in one that has multiple toslink inputs the cambridge dacmagic plus comes to mind as a decent option, but it’s a bit outdated at his point. You could also buy the topping e30 + l30 combo and then grab a toslink switcher like this one https://www.amazon.com/J-Tech-Digital-Premium-Quality-TOSLINK/dp/B00HQ2R38C/ref=pd_lpo_23_t_0/140-1771969-9742000

1 Like