DT770 the best option for me?

Hi everyone!

I’m relatively new to world of high quality audio so I don’t have much experience at all and need some help. Right now I have a set of HD 280 pros (older version) and a Shanling M1 that I’m using as my DAP and DAC when I’m home and I’m looking to upgrade. I’m planning on getting a JDS Labs atom for my amp and am having some trouble finding the right closed headphones (under $200).

I listen to mostly EDM (tropical/ deep house/ trance/ trap) as well as some punk rock and occasionally folk. I don’t game or anything, though I do watch a lot of movies and shows. I’m looking for something that has more depth and a large sound stage to them as I find the 280s thin and shallow. Given the music that I listen to mostly, I want something that has good bass and sub-bass, though I don’t want it to be overwhelming and the only thing that I hear. I’d still like to have some details in the highs as long as they aren’t terribly ear piercing. Also, I do wear glasses, so I need something that would be comfortable during long listening sessions.

I’ve always heard really great things about the DT770, especially for electronic music, though seeing they’re as old as they are, I’m wondering if there might be a better choice for what I’m looking for. That being said, do you all have any recommendations or are the DT770 what I’m looking for? If so, what impedance would you recommend?

Thank you all so much!

1 Like

The dt770 250 ohm does sound up your alley, it’s wider, great subbass, and still has good detail and control. The atom should drive it nicely. The main issue might be with glasses, the pads tend to not play well in that regard (you might be able to get around that with a pad change)

You might want to try the Meze 99. The Neo is on sale at Headamp for 150$. and the Noir is on sale at Massdrop for 200$. Both great sounding headphones. nice bass.