Fiio btr5 vs topping l30 - hifiman he400se

Hello everyone,
So I am a beginner here.
My current setup is macbook pro + fiio btr1k + Hifiman he400se
I want to make an upgrade in my setup.
I am looking into fiio btr5 2021 and topping L30, I know it’s a strange choice.
I have read that these headphones require about 100mW
And as I can see fiio btr5 in balanced connection can provide twice than this.
But I have also heard people recommending topping stack for planners to get the best out of them.
Which puts me in the confused state.
Is a headphone Amp really necessary for these ?
Could I just get a btr5 + cable (portability could be useful) and be done with the setup or should I pick an AMP for now and use it with my macbook pro’s internal DAC/btr1k (I have read & felt that both are decent) and after sometime buy Topping E30 ?
P.S. In the meanwhile btr1k could suffice my portability needs as these headphones gets decently loud on full volume with it, albeit with distortion.

I’ve done BTR5 balanced with my 400se I’d say it’s around 95% as good as something like a IFI Zen Dac balanced.
A desktop unit/stack would be better but you are paying more for it.

mebe look at the iFi Zen DAC v2 or the newer iFi Air Zen DAC. these are combo units with both DAC and amp. the Zen DAC v2 has a 4.4mm pentacon balanced out for more power if you use a balanced cable to the headphones.

Btr1k is pretty old and weak by now. Won’t recommend that.

Had a Edition XS and Arya V2 on a qudelix 5k, pretty much the same as btr5. It could drive them fine, even with EQ (over balanced).

If you get an amp maybe not the L30.
The problem that it breaks and grill the headphone might be solved but they lie about the power output instead of 2.3W it only gives out 1W at 32 Ohm

Maybe look at the L50 instead or SP200, Magni.