FiiO K7 crackling sound and recommendations

Hello peeps!

I’m kinda new to HiFi so go easy on me.

I just received the FiiO K7.

Setup:

• MacBook Pro 16” M1 Max.
  • FiiO K7 connected via USB.
  • Set the Audio MIDI Setup app to 2ch 32-bit 384KHz.
  • Headphones: KPH30i (Clear) and KSC75 (Drop) connected via 6.35mm output with 3.5mm adapter.

When setting the K7 volume to max, there’s a crackling sound on some songs in an specific range of sound (Don’t know how to explain this?).

Lowering the volume a little bit fixes the issue. It happens with both headphones mentioned above. My question is:

Could this be an issue with the K7? Bad configuration? Or the headphones not performing well?

Also, I would like a headphone recommendation for music, all genres, open-back, no preference on balanced/unbalanced nor dynamic/planar/insertmoredrivershere.

I’m looking for comfort (being able to use them 24/7), easy to clean, changeable pads and don’t get hot (SHP-9500 sweat beast).

Max 1000 USD. Some considerations are the following in no specific order:

• Meze 109 Pro. (My top choice so far).
  • Beyerdynamic TYGR 300 R.
  • Beyerdynamic DT 1990 Pro. (Too many complains ‘bout too bright?)
  • Hifiman Edition XS.
  • Hifiman Ananda.
  • Focal Clear (Originals, trying to avoid them cuz of color, pads could get dirty really easy?)
  • Focal Elex.
  • Audeze LCD-2 Classic (I heard they are heavy / not comfy?)
  • Other suggestions?
  • Oh, Canada stores or Amazon CA.

Would prefer sound-stage and definition of instruments and vocals.

My DAC/AMP combo considerations were the iFi Zen DAC V2 and the Topping D3X Pro+, iFi Go Blu. Went with the FiiO K7…

Thanks in advance for reading and any help you could provide.

Your PC probably can’t keep up with processing that high a bit depth/sample rate, or the applications you’re using aren’t compatible. Try switching to 16bit 44100 or 48000Hz - there isn’t really any advantage to going higher anyway.