FiiO Q1 MKII vs Focusrite Scarlett Solo as a DAC?

I’m looking for a DAC/AMP for my desktop music production and gaming setup. I will not be having any inputs at all. Only headphone output. Probably going to buy a ATH M50x or M40x too.

So what has a better DAC? The Q1 or the Solo?

I would say both are equally as decent as a dac through line out, I think the q1 mk2 has a better headphone amp though. So you aren’t planning on using the interface aspect of the focusrite? In that case perhaps look at the fiio k5 pro imo, would be a nice all in one, or an ifi zen DAC for something a bit warmer and smoother

1 Like

Both the K5 and zen DAC are a little too expensive in my country. Yeah, I won’t be using the interface aspect of the focusrite basically. The Q1 MK2 is fine for music production right? And it will be on par with the Focusrite Solo as a DAC? Thanks for the reply.

Also, how much better do you think the zen DAC is than the Q1 MK2. I’m a beginner audiophile

It would be alright, the issue is that you can’t run it balanced which does limit the performance of the q1, so I don’t think it’s ideal for the headphones you have. Also it’s a slightly warmer sound so

I would say so

It’s a step up but not a massive one, also for mainly music production the ifi might be a bit more colored than you would want

Do you have a desktop? What I might actually suggest is to consider something like a topping L30, and then grab a cable to plug it into your pc audio line out for a pretty great experience. Later on you can add on a dac like the matching topping e30 when you have the budget for another quality increase

1 Like

The Q1 MkII have a 2.5mm balanced output jack. I don’t think I’ll be buying a balanced headphone anyways. Also, just the regular 3.5mm would be ideal for something like the ath M40/M50x right?

About getting the topping L30… My desktop motherboard DAC is pretty shit, hence I wanted to get an external DAC. Plus these brands aren’t available in my country :joy: