First attempt at making my own wires

So i recently decided i want try and make my own headphone cables (also im new to soldering so keep that in mind). So im looking for beginner supplies to practice on, something cheap but similar to the “real deal” that will allow me to work my way up slowly

Aside from the actual soldering supplies, im assuming i should be looking at 3 major things

• Wires
  • connectors
  • the sleeve

If there is anything i missed or you have recommendations free to drop a “shopping list” and some helpful pointers :smiley:

Hm not exactly a soldering supply but some 1:2 shrink tube and 1:3 shrink tube with glue is always good to have and a decent tired hand is nearly a must have
If you want to solder some really tight connectors ( looking at you 4.4 :face_with_symbols_over_mouth: ) some conformal coating can save your ass against some shorts :wink:
Otherwise depending on the kind of cable you wanna make watching some braiding vids can help for single strand wires.
Best starting point for home made cable imo is some 2 conductor microphone wire and than simply twist it and slap some shrink tube on it as a splitter and you’re good to go :smiley:

Jason knows his stuff :+1:

3 Likes

soldering is easy. buy a roll of 24 gauge wire and go to town practicing if your nervous. wire and solder are cheap. for small things, use low melt temp solder. small connections melt easy and you can melt the connection trying to solder it.

Ya ive been told repeatedly that it isnt rocket science but more of an art so that exactly what im mostly focused on practicing.

Is 24 gauge good for the real deal or just practice stuff? (lets say its a decent quality wire), im not used to the gauges on headphone wires i mostly know the standard in speaker cables :smiley:

22-24 is pretty standard for headphones.

1 Like