Headphone amp/DAC for powered speakers?

Hey all,

I had a quick question as I am somewhat new to DACs, pre amps, and other bits of audio gear past a receiver and bookshelf’s.

I have a compact desk set up with Kanto Yu2’s running off of their built in USB DAC. I have invested in a Hifiman HE4xx headset and a little bear p2 head phone amp. I am also currently looking into a budget DAC for this setup, possibly a Fiio k3. No audiophile but want a nice little setup.

So my question would be, can I run this as
PC—>DAC—>pre amp—> powered speakers? Will it sound horrible/cause issues running this through a headphone DAC and a “fake” tube headphone amp via the aux on my Yu 2’s?

I would leave it set up like this and then just swap the headset into the headphone amp when I wanted to switch. I realize there may be little to no audio benefits here but as long as it doesn’t detract from sound I already get out of them I would probably go this route.

Thanks in advance.

What if you got a fiio k5 pro and bypassed the little bear? I think the k5 pro is a great dac and amp for the money, and has pre outs so you can control the speakers with them

That’s a good option as well, I’m definitely still open to DAC suggestions.

I guess I have two answers, the adult side of me is hoping to have the little bear add some color and the childlike side of me just likes to watch the VU lights lol. Even if using the little bear should I still be looking at a dac with preamp outs? I was also wanting to mount the unit with Velcro on the underside of the desk.

I realize that this probably isn’t the best or most practical setup but am curious as to if it’s even possible without being detrimental to the components or audio quality. I have my little Bear front and center on my desk and was hopeful to use it as a volume control for the speakers as well.