Headphone stand - suggestions needed!

Hello all!

I am an engineer and a big fan of perfect audio, especially on my headphones. Some time ago, I bought the AKG k612 headphones and I love them. Perfect and clean audio, very open scene and the design! Worth every $ I spent on it.
However, the one problem I found is that I am concerned about the headbands distortion, when not using it and hanging on headphone hanger.
That’s why (as an engineer) I started thinking of the solution, how to store my k612 and be calm about headbands. I’ve made my headphone stand (so I don’t need to hang k612) and I want to share it with the world.
However I would like to meet the premium look of the k612, it is quite challenging though! I am wondering about several aspects, so I created my own survey/research.
Could You please, as true Audiophiles, help me with this one, so I’ll get rid off my dilemmas?
If you leave your email in the form (totally optional), I will send you a discount code once my headphone stand is available for sale!

https://forms.gle/CFve9wpMed6gt6YCA

PS. The survey should take no longer than 1 minute to complete!

To answer your form, I built this stand a while ago:

Lessons learned:

• 3mm steel plate under the wooden base gives a lot of stability
  • headband-support is pretty difficult to get right (this one sucks for “floating headband”-type headphones)
  • finishing wood is time consuming and takes a lot of elbow grease (power tools only get you so far)

Warnings from model building experience:

• Steambending wood is 0 fun (even with custom jigs)
  • Carbonfiber/Glasfiber mold working is messy and comes with a steep learning curve.
2 Likes

Thank You so much for Your reply and suggestions.
I really like Your stand.
I am exploring new concept for headphone stand - it is more stand than hanger.