Help a new guy decide on headphones mainly for immersion. $200-250

Hello everyone!

First post here so I am hopeful that you all can help me. I am completely new to decent audio setups as I just came from the first edition of the Playstation Gold wireless headsets. They recently started to die and so I have decided to treat myself with a new audio setup.

I would only be using this for gaming on my computer. I am looking for immersion when it comes to games. I mainly play RPGs (both single and MMO) and love to immerse myself and explore while listening to sounds around me an in-game music. If I do play an FPS, I want the sounds to help me feel like I am actually there on this giant battlefield. I love to listen to the soundtrack as I play.

I will admit sound positioning would be nice, as I do play the occasional FPS match with friends, but it is not as important as everything else mentioned above.

Given that I am new to all this, my budget would have to cover both headphones and an amp if needed. I have looked into the following open back headphones:

-Tygr 300 r (no amp needed, great reviews)
-DT 880 (I believe the 600 ohm needing a good amp would bring it out of my price range sadly)
-Pc38x (no amp needed and an included mic)
-HD560s (amp would take it out of price range as well I believe)

I could push the budget to $300 if needed, but would really prefer the $200-250 range.

1 Like

Since you have a very tight budget, I think that Tygr 300 R is your best bet.

To get a decent amp/dac you’d need at least 100 bucks to start off with, and headphones even worth considering would be in the 250 USD range, so you wold be looking at a 350 USD setup… which is out of your price range.

Tygr 300 R has very positive review, so I would pull the trigger if I was you

Thanks for the response! Quick question regarding the Tyger 300 R and Pc38x.

Do you believe the sound quality of the Tygr is worth the extra $30 ($80 with modmic) over the Pc38x with its included mic?