Help for closed back headphone recommendations

Hi all!
I’ve been using a pair of ATH MSR7 with a FiiO Q1 for 3 years now and am looking to upgrade.

Im willing to spend 43’000¥ (400 USD) for headphones, plus extra for DAC/AMP if needed.
Headphones must be closed back and over-ear. They will be used for mainly listening to music but also casual gaming (Immersion with the landscape and music is more important to me than hearing footsteps), a mic is not needed. I tend to use my headphones for long periods at a time so comfortability is a big factor for me.

I listen to a wide range of genres but tend to gravitate more towards bass. Genres include Epic, Orchestral, Instrumental (The type you might hear in a sound track for a movie or game), Electronic (anything from Ambient through to Hardstyle), Jazz and J-rock. As I mentioned, I tend towards music with strong basslines and often female (Japanese) vocals. If it helps, some of my go to artists include Myth&Roid, Camellia, Yunosuke, Gorillaz, Yunomi and any OST such as that from NieR.

I’m not really sure how I can describe my prefered sound signature… I like to hear a detailed, driving low-end, with distinction and clarity in the high-ends (like female vocals). Mid range is also important and I like to feel ‘immersed’ in the music? Not as if the sound is just being blasted at me.

Im aware of the benefits an open back would provide, but unfortunatly due to my living conditions I can’t have a lot of leakage.

I hope this is enough info, I can provide more if needed.
I am currently located in Japan (Tokyo) and would prefer to be able to purchase in store.

Thank you for helping me :slight_smile: