Help picking out powered monitors

Hey, this is my first time on the forum. I’m on here because I need some help picking out a set of powered speakers under $500 for the pair. I have the Mackie MR624 and Presonus Eris E5/E7 XT set as possible contenders, but I’m open to suggestions. I’m on a desk and plan to use them to listen to music, watch movies, and play some games. I listen to Pop, EDM, and some Rap.
I plan to feed the monitors with a Schiit Modius and use the Magnius as a Pre-Amp if that’s useful information. I would really appreciate any insight and/or suggestions anybody may have.

1 Like

I can’t say I have much experience with speakers in general. But for under 500 closer to 600 the focal alpha 50 might be worth looking into. I have the 80s and they are pretty good. If you want to stick to a even cheaper budget I have the iloud micros and those sound super fun too with ridiculous bass. Finally I know many people love the adam T5V which is in between in terms of price. Also when it comes to what you listen to, in my personal experience the ilouds and focals do those quite well. I’ve zero experience with the Adam’s however. But both I mentioned are very well rounded and do bass, mids and treble very well.
Also welcome to the forum!

Thank you for the recommendations! I’ll look into the Focals and the iLouds.

I have the same question on another thread but I’m looking for monitors to be as flat and accurate as possible.

My limited research keeps popping up the ADAM Audio A5X, which are $500 each. The T5V’s are quite a bit less at $200 each, the T8V’s are closer to your max budget, but they are also a LOT bigger. That’s one of the issues I have with my speakers, the larger sizes really don’t make sense on my desk.

I can’t say I’m am expert but the iloud micros sound pretty neutral to me. Pretty flat sounding while having tons of slam for the fun factor and also are very small. I would highly recommend those to you. Perfect for desk size