Hiby R6Pro - Scratches on screen

I am pretty new to the world of high end audio so decided to jump in with a good DAP in order to get the ball rolling as most of my audio listening is while im travelling for work, However when i got the R6 Pro and unboxed it i took off the screen protector to find scratches running up and down the screen both front and back.

I have discussed it with their customer service team who didnt do a fantastic job, They offered to send me a leather case if it wasnt scratched then when I confirmed it was and sent them a video of me cleaning it with alcohol as they recommended; They shut that down and said I can either return it for a refund and repurchase it or they cant do anything…

Has this happened with anyone else?

And is it worth Rebuying it once I get the refund? im pretty turned off the company but have heard good things about the product…

That kinda sucks and I agree the company didn’t handle it well from what you say, I guess I would listen to it for a few days to see what you think of it and then return it. I haven’t heard of this happening before. For if it’s worth it or not to buy it again, I would base that off of the short time you spend with it

Thanks for the reply, I spent a few days using it and it was fantastic but it has gotten me thinking if the price tag would be better spent on a DAC which I could use both on my computer and hooked up to my phone. Something like the FIIO Q1ii for example?

Dont know how well those stack up compaired to a full on DAP or if the only thing you are missing out on is the independance of them not needing to run off of a phone.

So, how much do you value having a separate device? I think if you aren’t really drawn to the separate nature of it I would go with a dac amp imo

That is a question i have been scratching my chin about over the past few days, most of the time i would want it for its portability is when i would also reach for ANC cans instead of either my PortaPros or new hd660s.