HIFIMAN HE4XX With DAC/AMP

Good day everyone. First and foremost I’m still pretty new to the world of audio.
And I need a bit of help choosing the right product.
My budget is around $400

I own a pair of HIFIMAN HE4XX Planar Magnetic Headphones, and I would like to purchase a DAC/AMP just for that. I’m not entirely sure if I need both and AMP and a DAC. There seem to be mixed opinions on that matter. And some say an AMP is all you need, others don’t.

There are two products that peeked my interests and would love to have some feedback on those.
Are they the right fit for my needs?

1: DROP + THX AAA™ 789 LINEAR AMPLIFIER
2: SMSL M500 Headphone Amplifier

I also own a pair of desktop speakers: Creative GigaWorks T40 Series II.
And those speakers are currently connected to a Sennheiser DAC GSX 1200 pro
I assume those speakers aren’t considered high end, does it make sense to purchase a DAC/AMP for those? They already sound great on the 1200 pro. But can it be bettered?

Are you mainly gaming? Listening to music?

so one thing to note about thx amps: they are dry. by that i mean they are so neutral that they suck the fun out of music. you may or may not be into that. some are, a lot are not.

the gsx1200 is a solid dac, but you can do better for sure for not a lot of money. that being said, since you do have it already i would roll with it and jyst get an amp. you are already used to the sound signature, which also appears you do not mind.

i would get a solid amp first and try it for a while, if you feel you can do better still after tyring a new amp, then look into dacs. the quality differences in dacs below 200$ is very minimal. its more tonal differences then quality differences.