High-end Headphones for daily activites

Hello,

After few months of comparaison of posts/answers on this forum & reddit, i have decided to ask the wonderfull community here for some “final help”.

1. What goes into my ears (by occurency)

• Music eheh (Mostly Progressive Metal, Hip-hop & Lofi Hip-Hop, Electro)
  • Gaming ! No FPS. Just chill & fun
  • Movies, etc…

2. What Headphones ?

After a lot of time of comparaison, i narrowed down the list to 5 candidates.

• LCD-X
  • HD800 or HD800S (For when the girlfriend is sleeping :smile: )
  • Focal clear MG
  • HIFIMAN Arya
  • Beyerdynamic t1.3

Since i wear headphone between 6 to 10 hours pear day, i need something that is really confortable.

Concerning DAC & AMPS, i have decided to go on SCHIIT Valhalla + Modius. Im open for some other suggestions !

Thank you!

I have no experience with any of the mentioned headphones, but can give you my 2 cents.

LCD-X — remove from the list, >600g, very heavy and not really ergonomic/comfortable for long periods of time

HiFiMan Arya — I heard it’s bright, should be comfortable, from what I’ve heard you either love it or hate it

HD800 series — imo, you can’t really go wrong with Sennheiser, and comfort is top-notch

Focal Clear MG — just like Sennheiser, I don’t think you can really go wrong with the Clear MG, Focal knows what it’s doing and you should be getting quality (though I heard some people say it’s pretty much 50/50 in terms of quality control)

Beyerdynamic T1.3 — now Beyers are truly a very tricky choice if you never had the opportunity to listen to them beforehand. From what I hear there is also some controversy behind the T1.3 model

1 Like

Every headphone youve got on that list is polarizing, except the Focale unless you’re willing to EQ the LCD though as mentioned, too heavy. The Clear gets rave reviews unless sound stage is important to you. If you’re willing to spend that much you could consider ZMF, or Dan Clark for ultimate comfort

2 Likes

+1