Home Theater project 2.1/5.1 questions

I recently got a marantz av surround receiver sr5001 (for free).
I have no previous experience in audio but seeing the back of the receiver made me curious what the options are. What I can realize with this thing

So I did some research here and there but I find it extremely difficult to really know what I can do and how the quality will be / is from the receiver.

What I want:
A home theater (got an optoma optoma hd142x beamer)
and want to upgrade the sound quality but want to use it also for listening to music.
This will go from techno, dnb , rock …

I have some two cheap bookshelf speakers from when I was young. but they can’t really bring out those low frequencies.

Should I go for a 2.1? or would a 5.1 fullfill my goal more if I stay in the same price range.(600 dollars)
or start with a 2.1 and improve it later on to a 5.1?

should I begin with just a subwoofer and then switch out those bookshelf speakers later on?

Thanks in advance!

a quality 2.1 is much better than a budget 5.1.

5 Likes

I’ll second that opinion.

You’re better off getting higher quality speakers to start and then expanding as you go. $600 will get you a much better 2.1 than a 5.1. If it’s something you think you would upgrade eventually anyway, it makes more sense to get better fronts and a sub, and only have to add rears and a center later, rather than getting all of it, not being totally satisfied, and replacing the whole thing later.

1 Like

I would actually go so far s to recommend getting the best 2.0 speakers you can and add a sub later. up here in Canada the Kef LS50’s just went on sale for $900. if the exchange rate applies, you may be able to find these for close to your price range. these were $2K speakers when they first came out, so worth any extra you may have to scrounge and in smaller rooms, will have a good bass presence until you can add a sub.