I am looking for a new pair of headphones, and I have no idea what to do

So I’m completely new to audio. Until recently I thought that the current headset I own was the best audio available (I have the Game Zero). It’s starting to break and I’m looking for a good pair of headphones for that. I mostly play CS:GO and other games, with casual music listening on the side. A mic won’t be needed, and I am open to buying an amp. I would say I have a max budget of 400-500 dollars. Thank you in advance.

1 Like

SENNHEISER PC38X
For more details:

Disregard the pc38x if you care for detail and music quality or want better sound from a headphone rather than a gaming headset that is slightly above the average headphone. It’s the best case for headsets… not headphones whatsoever

I’d ask first what genres of music do you prefer and what instruments do you tend to favor example, vocals, bass, cymbals, etc

I have the 600ohm beyerdynamic DT990 personally and love it for gaming, but the DT990 Pro 250ohm (a bit cheaper) paired with a JDS Labs Element 2 is pretty solid for gaming and gives you some nice headroom for adding a variety of other headphones. Pretty close to your budget. Substitute the Element for a Schiit stack Magni/Modi if it doesn’t quite fit.
https://www.amazon.com/beyerdynamic-Over-Ear-Studio-Headphones-construction/dp/B0011UB9CQ/

I’d say just get the atom stack at that point but jds does make 990 a touch brighter… I’d say liquid spark preferably otherwise schiit magni, atom, or the topping stack l30 e30

All those entry amps power the 600 ohm 990 which in terms of performance is better than 250 ohm

1 Like

I mostly listen to a variety of rock and hip hop. I am looking to go away from headsets, and just go headphones. I play games competitively, so good imaging matters a lot.

And open back is what you’re looking for? Or closed?

I can go either way. I have heard that open back is really nice, so I’m open to trying that.