Idk here's the place for recommendations but i could use some help

I’m just getting started with hi-fi headphones and have been doing HT/car/home audio for a while now. I’ve always been looking at things like Daps because I love Hifi but can only listen through my phone with all my Spotify sound quality settings cranked up. Now that I’m beginning my journey into headphones I think it is finally time I move past full storage on my phone and almost good enough sq from it and upgrade. I’m in high school still so money is short but I make a good side extra from Miss Match Audio Services. Anyway, the point is that I can’t splurge too much but with divorced parents I do get two Christmases so something I can find for 300 or less, used or new should be in the range. I’m looking for something I can use to power low to moderately needy headphones (currently looking at the hifiman sundaras) but has Bluetooth for cars and BT speakers. I need to be able to stream music off it and maybe download onto it using a MICRO SD. Been looking at some used or open box HiBy R5 II which seem to check all the boxes but I don’t know how to get my Spotify playlist to a higher quality platform especially when I can’t find any of the music I love anywhere else then Apple Music and Spotify. I’m new here and any and all help will be appreciated.

1 Like

welcome to HFG, Grouse!

I don’t have an answer for you as I don’t use a DAP…but on the more affordable scale, if you have a smartphone with expandable storage, continuing to use it with a quality mobile DAC / Amp would be a good option to consider. a couple examples of popular models would be the ifi audio go link, go blu and go bar. and if you’re not against buying used, it will be much easier to score a higher quality solution with your money vs. new (ie. the go bar is NOT cheap…but I like mine).