IE 300 "overdriving" / "clipping"

Hello, my name is Paul and I am from Austria. I’m pretty new to IEMs and audiophile stuff. I recently bought the Sennheiser IE 300, I have them hooked up to the audient Evo 4. They usually work fine, the only problem I have with them is that every time a high-pitched sound/bass comes (like a grenade exploding in Apex Legends, or Someone in discord talking more loudly) up my IEMs start to basically “clip” or “overdrive” and a weird crackling noise comes up.
As I said before I have them hooked up to my Audient Evo 4, the IE 300 has a 3.5mm Jack, and the audient Evo 4 has a 6.3mm audio jack. I bought a 6$ Adapter to connect my IEMs. (My suggestion is that the adapter is causing the problem.) One of my friends said that the Audient Evo 4 has too much “power” for them and I need an “iFi iEMatch+ 3.5mm Male to Female Headphone Jack In-Ear Monitor”, this particular one is 50$ which is kinda expensive. (I’ve already tried hooking them up to my monitor and that works without the weird sounds, but the IEMs are too silent if I connect them to my monitor.) Does anyone of you maybe know what could cause the problem?
Thanks,
Paul

PS: English is not my native language so please don’t blame me for that :slight_smile:

To be honest in case of Discord it seems that the other person’s microphone distorting is causing these weird sounds. People often use laptop’s built-in microphones or gaming headsets, so in other words not state of the art microphones, that will distort when someone talks loudly.

I am not sure with Apex Legends (I do not have any experience with this game) but my best guess is that the sounds of explosions are heavily compressed so that they will not deafen the players for lack of better words. When heavy compression happens, the “clipping” and “overdrive” sounds often apper.

I maybe forgot to add that this also appears when I play some loud music or watch a loud youtube video.
Do you maybe know a fix to that?