If there are people who are just starting out in Hi FI audio, what DACs would you recommend to them?

I will be honest, I never have owned a DAC before and I can say to myself that I am still fairly new to Hi Fi audio in general. In your opinion, what is a good DAC that is good to own as a starting point? also the DAC should be at least in a budget friendly level as well. I just want to know your thoughts and of course would like to learn more about them in general.

Do you also have an amp?

If you wanted a killer combo, the topping d10 dac and jds labs atom amp is around 200 USD and really can’t be beat for the price.

The fiio k5 pro is around 150 and is an all in one unit that’s also great

If you wanted something portable, the fiio q1 mk2 is around 100 USD and can be used on the go or on a desk

Of course there are higher options out there, but these are more then just a good starting point, and honestly could be all you need

well I have yet to get an AMP as well, so I am still trying to get into things that I have yet to have some familiarity with.

You do need an amp first and foremost to actually get sound into your headphones. Typically an amp will make the larger difference in sound quality then a dac, but getting a nice dac is also worthwhile. Honestly if you want a separate dac, the topping d10 (~$80) usd is as good of a dac as you will pretty much need until you step into the above 500 usd range of gear.

well if you have a recommendation on AMPs, which one should I get first? I am thinking about getting some amps from Fiio since I heard some good things about them.

The k5 pro is an amp and dac desktop combo, so it would have everything you would need for around 150 usd. Very powerful for the price and a great unit overall