Intro speaker advice? ~300ish usd budget.

Hey all. I’m looking to make my first actual speaker purchase and am looking for some advice. My budget is around $300USD, but I can flex a bit for a good deal. This would be for a desktop PC setup. I mostly use my headphones for gaming, but would like to get some speakers for watching stuff and listening to music.

Since I’ve stuck with headphones for the greater part of two decades, I have very little knowledge about the other side of things. I know there are passive and active speakers - from what I can tell it’s essentially DIY/modular (passive) vs All-In-One (active), but I’m sure that’s a gross oversimplification. Active ones are self powered right? Are there pros/cons for each or is one considered straight up better? I’ve also seen that there are two different types beyond that: speakers and studio monitors. That one I have no idea about, what is the difference?

As of this moment I’m lightly leaning towards active, but that’s just because there’s less individual things or parts to stress about. I don’t have an amp or anything else (would I need anything else?) for a passive setup, but I am not opposed to going that route.

My current choice is the Edifier S350DB system - it is pushing the budget a bit, but it comes with a sub which doesn’t seem that common. I’m open to any suggestions though!

Hi! Welcome to HiFiGuides!

Active versus passive. Active as it basics has 1 amplifier built into 1 speaker, with the second speaker drawing power from the first.

passive, you need an external amp to power them.

passive has the advantage of being able to swap components. if something dies, the whole system does not need to be replaced, just what died. passive has the disadvantage of typically costing more over all for the same performance.