Is HD6xx is good choice to upgrade from HD569?

Fellow newbie here, i wanted to know is the sound signature for these 2 are close or HD6xx is darker than the HD569? HD6xx and HD650 is a very similar headphones based on what i read on the internet and reviewers. I saw a lot of people said that HD650 has a dark sound, is it really that dark tho? I actually prefer a warm sound and smooth mid range like the HD569, is the HD6xx a good upgrade? Currently using the IFI Zen dac

569 is one of the closed-back, correct? One thing to keep in mind.
I think you’ll find them a bit softer than 569 in treble response, with even more mid-range focus.
I don’t know that I would call them dark, but warm is true.
I don’t know much about what you’re looking for, but warm, smooth mid-range sounds like Senn-600 territory to me. I vote, yes.

1 Like

Because your ears are used to 569, you need more time with your new headphones to get used to the new frequency response (regardless of what you buy).

With HD6xx + Zen dac the first thing you’d probably notice is the sound is warmer and the bass is not as tight as HD569. You’re going to loose the bass so maybe you’d need the bass boost of Zen dac.

1 Like

Thanks for the replies. But i saw a lot of people saying 6xx’s midrange is more intimate compare to 600, is it true? Im actually stuck between these 2 right now

6xx is very very close to 650, this review comparison basically says that hd 650 will have more body for lower mids (including male vocalists) and hd 600 for higher mids (including female vocalists).

If you want a more balanced all around sound go for hd 6xx, if you want a little bit more focus on treble and vocal clarity go for hd 600.

1 Like

pretty sure if you drop a pair of 6XX’s they will sound like either 650 or 600, i’m not even talking hardwood but carpet here

3 drops on hardwood and 6XX sounds like 660

10 drops is HD800s