Is it worth Upgrading from a O2+ODAC Combo?

Hey Guys and Girls,

so I’m watching Zeos, DMS and Joschua for a while and watched some Reviews regarding Amps and DACs and I’m getting pretty insecure because I have no experience to relay on.
So where do I come from?

I recently bought the DT 1990 Pro since I head the DT 880 600 Ohm Versions vor quite some time now (around 5 Years) and I heard that the DT 1990 Pro would be a worthy upgrade.
With the DT 880 600 Ohm I used a Objective2 + ODAC Combo Unit and was quite satified with it.
I love the DT 1990 Pro even more than the 880 (with the Analytical Pads) and was wondering, If the O2 Combo got the best out of them. One of the tree reviewers, I think it was Joschua, mentioned, that a good AMP can further Improve the Sound of the DT 1990 Pro.

So my Question is:
If I would consider upgrading to a Monolith THX 887 or SMSL SP200 with a SU-8, would that be a really noticable improvement over my current setup?
I’m especially searching for detail and clearity.

Since I have not much budget for Audio I have never heard a different Headphone-Amp than mine. I tried a entry-level Power-Amp but that one sounded kind of compressed and muddy (Onkyo A8630).

I would love to hear Your opinions on this and thanks in advance for the help :slight_smile:

I think if you wanted a sizable noticable upgrade in detail and clarity, I would actually suggest looking into a Rupert Neve rnhp amp with something like an enog 2 pro or su8 dac, I think that would yield the most bang for the buck. If you wanted to spend less, you could consider something like an archel 2.5 pro and enog 2 pro stack imo. The o2 + odac is respectable, and I don’t think you would need to upgrade, but an upgrade would help. I would recommend skipping thx amps though as imo you can get similar performance for much less or better performance for a bit more