Is the Hifiman HE-R10 series a joke?

So I have no experience in anything audiophile but I just bought a HE-400i ver 2020. Later, I started looking at this oddly similar headband headphone (HE-R10P) which cost $5000+ on Hifiman’s website???

I was thinking like what on earth is Hifiman doing? They can’t just change the material of the headband and make a $5000+ headphone out of it, it’s just stupid. Like there is no difference between my he400i and it if I upgrade to it, it’s just sound quality.
At that price, it should be considered a luxury item and made with exotic materials and probably hand crafted. It’s just not worth it if you ask me.

I then started looking at people talking about they are just clones of a ~10 year old Sony that are priced like they are artisan products.

So now I know Hifiman also has a history of just copying other headphones and really overpriced their stuff which is odd considering they make one of the best headphones out there.

Any thoughts about it? Or just talk crap about it before it has a official thread (probably only reviewers will get it, don’t think anyone would buy) or its officially for sale.

Condidering it’s not the most expensive headphone that hifiman makes, nor is it even close to how much other headphones cost, $20k +
I could totally see people wanting it, especially since its a close back from hifiman, and it has that old Sony r10 charm to it. Im all for headphone companies competing, but yea pretty much looks like the Sony. But others, like ZMF, have used similar parts of the r10. That Sony is like a “unicorn” and has inspired many other headphones. I say get er done hifiman. Buts thats just my view on it, your opinion is totally valid :+1:

1 Like